Guide: traffic school
California and New York: different tools, different limits
What each DMV says the course does, and how often you can use it.
- 18 months
- California: once in any 18-month period
- 10%
- New York: off the base insurance rate for three years
California DMV and New York DMV, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

Reading the rules
In California the decision belongs to the court: the judge may offer traffic school for a one-point violation, and the benefit is that your insurer does not see the citation. The citation itself stays on your DMV record1.
In New York the program works on two things at once: points used in the DMV's record calculation, and your insurance base rate2.
Side by side
| Question | California traffic violator school | New York PIRP |
|---|---|---|
| Who decides1 | The judge may offer it for a one-point violation | You enroll yourself in an approved course |
| What it does2 | Citation not reported to your insurer; stays on your driving record | Up to 4 points off the record calculation; 10% off the base insurance premium rate for three years |
| How often2 | Once in any 18-month period | Points: once in 18 months; insurance reduction: retake every 36 months |
| Course length2 | Not stated by the source | 320 minutes (classroom) |
| Source | California Driver HandbookRead Oct 2, 2026 | New York DMV, PIRPRead Oct 2, 2026 |
Not stated means the page we read did not cover it.
Taking the course online
Online providers such as Aceable sell courses for both programs, among other states3. Confirm with the court or DMV that the course you choose is accepted for your case before you pay.
About this page
We do not earn anything from your quotes or sign-ups today. Every partner link is a plain link to the partner's own site, without a referral code. We may join partners' referral programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.
RideRight Guide is not a lender, broker, insurer, carrier or driving school, and nothing here is financial or legal advice. We do not collect your details or pass them to anyone.
Prices and rules are what the named source published on the date we read it. The provider's own page and contract, and your state's DMV or court, are the final word.





