Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. How this site works

Defensive driving online, 2026

Dismiss a ticket or cut your insurance

Texas, California and Florida each run a different program. Here is what each state says the course does and what Aceable charges.

1 per 12 mo
Texas: one ticket dismissed per 12 months; get court permission first
1 per 18 mo
California: traffic school once in any 18-month period

Aceable TX and California DMV, read Oct 5, 2026. See source

A young adult studies on a laptop in a cafe.
On this page
  1. What defensive driving and traffic school do
  2. Key facts
  3. Which state and situation?
  4. Defensive driving programs by state
  5. See courses on Aceable
  6. Before you enroll
  7. Defensive driving questions
  8. Sources

What defensive driving and traffic school do

Defensive driving courses let eligible drivers dismiss a traffic ticket, reduce points or lower their insurance rate - depending on the state. Texas uses TDLR-approved driver safety courses for ticket dismissal. California uses traffic violator school to keep a one-point citation off the insurance record. Florida's Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) program reduces points for non-criminal violations124.

These are not the same as drivers ed. If you need a first license, see the drivers ed page.

Key facts

  • Texas: TDLR-approved defensive driving dismisses one ticket per 12 months; you must get court permission before enrolling1.
  • California: for a one-point violation the judge may offer traffic school; the citation stays on your record but is not reported to your insurer2.
  • Florida BDI: a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course for non-criminal violations; $34.95 listed, $5.94 with offer shown; not for CDL holders4.
  • Aceable California Traffic Violator School: $49 listed, $29 with offer shown3.

Which state and situation?

Which state and situation?
If you are askingStart withLink
Got a ticket in Texas?Get court permission, then enroll in a TDLR course
Got a ticket in California?Ask the judge if traffic school is offered
Got a ticket in Florida?BDI: 4 hours, authorized for all counties

Defensive driving programs by state

State programWhat it doesAceable listed priceWith offer shown
Texas - online1Dismisses one ticket per 12 months (with court permission)$49$29
Texas - hands-free audio1Same ticket dismissal, hands-free format$64$39
California - traffic school3Citation not reported to insurer; stays on record; once in 18 months$49$29
Florida - BDI4Points reduction for non-criminal violations; 4 hours; all counties$34.95$5.94
SourceAceable TX, CA DMV, FL BDI pagesRead Oct 5, 2026Aceable listed price, read Oct 5, 2026Read Oct 5, 2026Aceable offer shown, Oct 5, 2026Read Oct 5, 2026

Offers change; the course page shows the current price. TX and CA courses are 6 hours; FL BDI is 4 hours.

See courses on Aceable

How these links work: each button opens the partner's own site. We are not paid for these links today; we may earn a referral fee in the future.

Good for defensive driving, traffic school and BDI in Texas, California and Florida

Aceable

Texas approval
TDLR-approved
California TVS license
#E0803
See defensive driving courses on AceableOpens Aceable's site. Not a referral link.
What to check first
  • That you have court permission in Texas before paying
  • That the course is accepted by your court or DMV
  • The price after any offer ends

Before you enroll

  • Get court permission first

    Texas requires you to get court permission before enrolling in a defensive driving course1.

  • Check how often you can use it

    Texas: once per 12 months. California: once in any 18-month period12.

  • Confirm the course is accepted

    Make sure your DMV or court accepts the course before you pay.

  • CDL holders - not eligible for FL BDI

    Florida BDI is not available to CDL holders4.

Defensive driving questions

Do I need permission before taking a Texas defensive driving course?

Yes. Texas law requires you to get court permission before enrolling. Enrolling without it does not count1.

What is the difference between California traffic school and a defensive driving course?

In California, traffic violator school keeps a one-point citation from your insurer; the citation still stays on your driving record2. New York runs a different program (PIRP) that reduces points and lowers the base insurance rate. See drivers ed and traffic school for New York.

Sources

  1. Texas Defensive Driving CoursesAceable, read Oct 5, 2026
  2. California Driver Handbook: Laws and Rules of the RoadCalifornia DMV, read Oct 2, 2026
  3. Online California Traffic SchoolAceable, read Oct 5, 2026
  4. Florida Driver Improvement Course (BDI)Aceable, read Oct 5, 2026

About this page

We do not earn anything from your quotes or sign-ups today. Every partner link is a plain link to the partner's own site, without a referral code. We may join partners' referral programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.

RideRight Guide is not a lender, broker, insurer, carrier or driving school, and nothing here is financial or legal advice. We do not collect your details or pass them to anyone.

Prices and rules are what the named source published on the date we read it. The provider's own page and contract, and your state's DMV or court, are the final word.