Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. How this site works

Service contracts, 2026

Read the sample contract before the sales call

What you get depends on the contract. Here is the FTC's checklist and what one company publishes.

$100s-$1,000s
What service contracts cost, per the FTC, plus any deductible
5 plans
CarShield sample contracts you can read first

FTC and CarShield, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

A mechanic shows a car owner the engine under a raised hood.
On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. Where to start
  3. Warranty or service contract?
  4. CarShield plan levels with published sample co...
  5. Read the contracts on the company's site
  6. What the FTC says to ask
  7. Service contract questions
  8. Sources

Key facts

  • A warranty comes with the car; a service contract is optional and bought separately1.
  • Prices run from several hundred to several thousand dollars, sometimes plus a deductible1.
  • Mail saying 'Final Warranty Notice' is usually not from your dealer or manufacturer1.
  • CarShield publishes sample contracts for each plan level2.

Where to start

Where to start
If you are askingStart withLink
Got a 'Final Warranty Notice'?Usually not from your dealer, the FTC says
Car still under warranty?Check for overlap before buying
Comparing plans?Read what each level covers

Warranty or service contract?

The FTC explains that a warranty is a promise to fix certain defects for a set time after you buy a vehicle, and is included in the price of a new car. A service contract, often sold as an extended warranty, is optional and bought separately from a manufacturer, dealer or independent company1.

Ask before you buy: who backs the contract, what exactly is covered and excluded, whether you can choose the repair shop, what deductible applies, and what maintenance you must keep up to stay covered1.

Be wary of the pitch. Calls, texts or mail with phrases like 'Final Warranty Notice' usually are not from your dealer or manufacturer, the FTC says1.

CarShield plan levels with published sample contracts

PlanWhat CarShield says it coversAimed at
Diamond2Described as closest to a new-car manufacturer warrantyNot stated by the source
Platinum2Engine, transmission, AC, electrical system, starter, water pump, fuel pump and moreHigher-mileage cars
Gold Select2Engine, transmission, water pump, starter, alternator, A/C, power window motorsCars over 100,000 miles
Silver2Powertrain: lubricated engine and transmission parts and water pumpNot stated by the source
Aluminum2Electrical and computer parts such as the engine control module, starter, alternator and navigationNot stated by the source

CarShield publishes term and monthly sample contracts for each level, with separate Florida versions. Prices are quoted per vehicle after a call3. Read October 2, 2026.

Read the contracts on the company's site

How these links work: each button opens the partner's own site. We are not paid for these links today; we may earn a referral fee in the future.

Good for reading a sample contract before you talk price

CarShield

Sample contracts
Five plan levels, term and monthly
Pricing
Quoted per vehicle after a call
Read the sample contractsOpens CarShield's site. Not a referral link.
What to check first
  • Who backs the contract
  • Exclusions and the deductible
  • Required maintenance and the cancellation terms

What the FTC says to ask

  • Who backs it?

    The manufacturer, the dealer or an independent company1.

  • What is covered?

    And what is excluded, in writing1.

  • Where are repairs done?

    Any shop, or only certain centers1.

  • What upkeep is required?

    Missed maintenance can void coverage1.

Service contract questions

Is a service contract the same as a warranty?

No. A warranty comes with the car; a service contract is optional and sold separately1.

How do I get a CarShield price?

By quote, online or by phone; a specialist reviews plan options and sample pricing levels with you3.

Sources

  1. Auto Warranties and Auto Service ContractsFederal Trade Commission, read Oct 2, 2026
  2. Sample ContractsCarShield, read Oct 2, 2026
  3. How it worksCarShield, read Oct 2, 2026

About this page

We do not earn anything from your quotes or sign-ups today. Every partner link is a plain link to the partner's own site, without a referral code. We may join partners' referral programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.

RideRight Guide is not a lender, broker, insurer, carrier or driving school, and nothing here is financial or legal advice. We do not collect your details or pass them to anyone.

Prices and rules are what the named source published on the date we read it. The provider's own page and contract, and your state's DMV or court, are the final word.