Guide: California traffic school
California traffic school: once in 18 months, if the judge offers
The DMV says the citation stays on your record but is not reported to your insurer. The judge decides whether traffic school is offered.
- 18 months
- Once in any 18-month period
- $29
- Aceable price with offer shown Oct 5, 2026
California DMV handbook and Aceable, read Oct 2 and Oct 5, 2026. See source

What the California DMV says
If you receive a one-point traffic violation in California, the judge may offer traffic violator school. Completing the course means your insurer is not notified of the citation, but the citation stays on your driving record. You can use traffic school once in any 18-month period1.
Aceable's California Traffic Violator School carries DMV license #E0803. Listed at $49, with an offer shown at $29 on the date we read it. Eligible if you have a valid license, have not attended traffic school in the last 18 months, the violation was non-alcohol, the vehicle is non-CDL and the violation is non-misdemeanor2.
California traffic school eligibility
| Requirement | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Who decides1 | The judge; must be offered for a one-point violation | CA DMV |
| How often1 | Once in any 18-month period | CA DMV |
| Effect on record1 | Citation not reported to insurer; stays on DMV record | CA DMV |
| Eligibility check2 | Valid license, no TVS in last 18 months, non-alcohol, non-CDL, non-misdemeanor | Aceable |
| Aceable listed price2 | $49 listed, $29 with offer shown Oct 5, 2026 | Aceable |
DMV data read October 2, 2026; Aceable price read October 5, 2026. Confirm with your court before enrolling.
About this page
We do not earn anything from your quotes or sign-ups today. Every partner link is a plain link to the partner's own site, without a referral code. We may join partners' referral programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.
RideRight Guide is not a lender, broker, insurer, carrier or driving school, and nothing here is financial or legal advice. We do not collect your details or pass them to anyone.
Prices and rules are what the named source published on the date we read it. The provider's own page and contract, and your state's DMV or court, are the final word.






